Richmond, Maine

Richmond was purchased from the Abenaki Indians in 1649 and was settled in 1725. The small river port and the local Native American population suffered numerous conflicts until farming and shipbuilding created an economic and social boom. Today, Richmond is home to nearly 3,500 people and it’s eclectic downtown is seeing yet another revival.

Sites, Attractions and Conserved Areas

  • Richmond’s Downtown. Definitely worth a visit. The architecture tells a story of it’s own and the up and coming restaurants and shops make for a fun day trip.
  • CHTJ Southard House Museum. Explore local history and see Victorian era housewares and toys here.
  • Swan Island. This 1,775 acre wildlife management area was once an 18th century town called Perkins Township. Before its use by settlers Native Americans used the island for centuries. A number of historical buildings and roads have been maintained on the island and guided tours, hiking trials and limited camping sites are available May 1st – Labor Day. Catch the ferry from Richmond’s waterfront park, but plan ahead, access to the island is by reservation only.
  • Waterfront Park. Richmond's waterfront park is a sweet place to sit and enjoy the river or views of downtown.

Places to Eat

  • The Old Goat Pub.  Located on Main St. this inspired eatery offers pub fare, a variety of beers and wines and weekend entertainment.
  • The Railway Café.  A great place for families, stop by for breakfast lunch or dinner. 
  • Dairy Treat.  A classic ice cream spot for a sultry summer evening, right on Main St.

Town Website

Committed To The Maine Community